Man With No Shadow

Apatik EP (Incl. Drumcomplex Remix)

Berlin/Barcelona based OFF Recordings is run by Andre Crom, focusing its sound to varying degrees of Techno. Artists such as Charlotte de Witte, dubspeeka, Juan Sanchez, Basic Soul Unit, Cari Lekebusch, Dast (Italy), Madben and others, have all made recent contributions. The latest release comes from Amsterdam based Ruben de Groot aka Man With No Shadow, who appears fresh from a stand out EP with 2000 and One’s 100% Pure imprint. An established DJ around Netherlands and beyond, he can also list supporters such as Adam Beyer, Dubfire, Carlo Lio, and Sam Paganini to name only a few. German born Arnd Reichow aka Drumcomplex supplies the sole remix for this EP after appearances on labels like Carl Cox’s Intec, Traum, Bush, and his own Complexed Records. “Apatik” is a powerful groove based track, where an acid loop expands and contracts like sonic waves, offering a driving tension that will appeal to many DJ’s and bring their set up a gear. The second offering “Hells Bells” has a more jacking and raw sound. Using the delayed and subdued bell samples to ride over the chunky beat. Additional attitude comes from low bass stabs and some well worked hi-hat textures, setting this up to do plenty of dance floor damage. Track three “Free Love” has a rolling groove and killer vocal hook. The sound combinations create a captivating flow and packed full of energy, it will certainly become a go to track for many club DJ’s. Drumcomplex finishes the release with a toughened remix of “Hells Bells”. Keeping the originals bell sound as the track’s main focus, he swaps in a pounding kick drum in order to add some serious stomp. The perfect way to end an EP, this reworked version is fast and furious with mounting tension.

Like techno? Share this!